siglauvt2.jpg synasc2006.jpg
 Main Menu
Call for papers
ACSys workshop
GridCAD workshop
ICS workshop
MTE workshop
NCA workshop
PN&WM workshop
Invited talks
Important dates
Social programme
Registration form
Contact info
Previous editions

GridCAD workshop PDF Print

Workshop on Grid Computing Applications Development


 September 28, 2006


in conjunction with SYNASC 2006

8th International Symposium on Symbolic and Numeric Algorithms for Scientific Computing, Timisoara, Romania, September 26-29, 2006



Objective and Topics:

GridCAD 2006 aims to bring together researchers and practitioners interested in application development methodologies and technologies for grid architectures.


The papers include, but are not limited to, the following grid application related topics:


-     Grid application development methodologies

-     Languages, tools and environments for grid application development

-     Formal and informal application specification

-     Spatial data modeling and processing (GIS, LBS etc.)

-     Satellite image and data processing

-     Grid application architectures

-     Graphical parallel processing

-     Meteorological and environment data processing

-     Parallel, distributed, and collaborative processing

-     Security in grid applications

-     Performance evaluation

-     Agent based architectures

-     Software technologies


Submission and Proceedings:

The papers of up to 8 pages should be formatted according to the IEEE style (see  SYNASC 2006 web page and must be submitted electronically to This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it

All papers will be peer  reviewed by at least two or more independent referees of the program  committee of GridCAD and accepted on the basis of their scientific merit and relevance to the Workshop topics. Papers accepted for presentation will be published in the SYNASC'06 post-proceedings (IEEE Computer Society Press).

Important dates:

Submission of papers:                              June 30  July 15

Notification of acceptance:                     August 7

Camera ready version:                              September 1 September 5

Workshop:                                                  September 28

Revised papers for post-proceedings:   October 20


Workshop chair:

Dorian Gorgan – Technical University of Cluj-Napoca, Romania


Program Committee:

 Dorian Gorgan (chair), Technical University of Cluj-Napoca, Romania
 Mitica Craus, Technical University Gh.Asachi, Iasi, Romania
 Vladimir Cretu, Politehnnica University of Timisoara, Romania
 Valentin Cristea, University "Politehnica" Bucharest, Romania
 Andrei Diamandi, National Meteorology Administration, Romania
 Daniel Grosu,  Wayne State University, Detroit, USA
 Alexandru Imbroane, Babes-Bolyai University, Cluj-Napoca, Romania
 Helen Karatza, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece
 Natalyia Kussul, Space Research Institute of National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine

 Samantha Lavender, University of Plymouth, UK
 John Morrison, University College Cork, Ireland
 Traian Muntean, University of Marseille, France
 Catalin Nae, INCAS (National Institute for Aerospace Research), Bucuresti

 Richard Olejnik, University of Science and Technology, Lille, France
Dana Petcu, West University of Timisoara, Romania
 Antonio Plaza, University of Extramadura, Caceres, Spain

 Nicolae Tapus, University "Politehnica" Bucharest, Romania
 Marek Tudruj, Polish Academy of Science, Warsaw, Poland


Organizing Committee: 

Horia Ciocarlie, "Politehnica" University of Timisoara, Romania

Cornelia Melenti, Technical University of Cluj-Napoca, Romania

Mihaela Ordean, Technical University of Cluj-Napoca, Romania

Lucian Cucu, West University of Timisoara, Romania



Dorian Gorgan

Computer Science Department

Technical University of Cluj-Napoca

C. Daicoviciu St. 15, RO-400020, Cluj-Napoca, Romania

tel: +40 264 401478, mobile: +40 723 367181

email: This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it


Copyright(C) 2006 - Department of Computer Science, email: